Collaborative Innovation

Ron M. Kurtz, MD
ASCRS Innovators General Session
Monday, May 6
10:00 – 11:30 a.m.

Charles D. Kelman, MD, Innovator’s Lecture

Each year, the American Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgery (ASCRS) honors an individual whose innovative ideas have benefited ophthalmologists and their patients. The lecture and medal were established in 1985. Lecturers include some of the world’s most prominent pioneers in ophthalmic surgery. In 2002, ASCRS renamed the Innovator’s Lecture the Charles D. Kelman Innovator’s Lecture in recognition of Dr. Kelman’s life-long contributions and innovations.

Ronald M. Kurtz MD


Ron M. Kurtz, MD is president and chief executive officer of RxSight - a privately-held corporation headquartered in Aliso Viejo, California. He joined RxSight in June 2015. Prior to that, Dr. Kurtz was the General Manager of Alcon LenSx, Inc. Prior to the acquisition of LenSx Lasers, Inc. by Alcon, he co-founded LenSx in 2007, serving as the company’s president and chief executive officer and member of the board of directors, until its acquisition. In 1997, he co-founded IntraLase Corporation serving as its initial president and chief executive officer. IntraLase became a publicly-held Nasdaq-listed company in 2004 and was acquired by Advanced Medical Optics, Inc. in 2007. Dr. Kurtz was a professor of clinical ophthalmology at the University of California, Irvine, and was on the faculty at the University of Michigan, where he established the Ultrafast Laser Medical Group. Dr. Kurtz earned his BA in Biochemistry from Harvard College and his MD from the University of California, San Diego.

Past Charles D. Kelman Lecturers

  • Steve Charles, MD, 2018
  • Reay H. Brown, MD, 2017
  • Graham D. Barrett, FRANZCO, 2016
  • Shigeru Kinoshita, MD, PhD, 2015
  • Warren E. Hill, MD, 2014
  • Richard Mackool, MD, 2013
  • Douglas D. Koch, MD, 2012
  • Richard L. Lindstrom, MD, 2011
  • Henry F. Edelhauser, PhD, 2010
  • Robert H. Osher, MD, 2009
  • Theo Seiler, MD, PhD, 2008
  • Okihiro Nishi, MD, 2007
  • Kensaku Miyake, MD, 2006
  • Carmen A. Puliafito, MD, 2005
  • John Marshall, PhD, 2004
  • Ioannis G. Pallikaris, MD, 2003
  • David J. Apple, MD, 2002
  • Gholam A. Peyman, MD, 2001
  • Stephen D. Klyce, PhD, 2000
  • David J. McIntyre, MD, 1999