The Quest for Tear Stability

Stephen C. Pflugfelder, MD
ASCRS Opening General Session
Saturday, May 4
10:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

The Binkhorst Lecture

ASCRS established the Binkhorst Lecture and Medal to honor Cornelius D. Binkhorst for his pioneering work with intraocular lenses (IOLs). Each year since 1975, ASCRS has conferred the Binkhorst Medal on an individual whose career has made significant contributions to the science and practice of ophthalmology and established that person among the world’s most prominent ophthalmologists.

Stephen Pflugfelder


Stephen C. Pflugfelder, MD, is professor and holder of the James and Margaret Elkins Chair and director of the Ocular Surface Center in the department of ophthalmology at Baylor College of Medicine. He specializes in cornea, ocular surface and tear disorders.

Dr. Pflugfelder’s research interests include pathogenesis of desiccation-induced inflammation and autoimmunity on the ocular surface. He has published more than 350 peer-reviewed articles and numerous book chapters. He is past president of the International Ocular Surface Society and has served on the editorial boards of Investigative Ophthalmology and Visual Science (associate editor), American Journal of Ophthalmology (associate editor), Scientific Reports, Cornea and The Ocular Surface. He serves as the Cornea Trustee on the ARVO Board.

Dr. Pflugfelder received his medical degree at the State University of New York Upstate College of Medicine and completed his ophthalmology residency at the Baylor College of Medicine and cornea fellowship at the Bascom Palmer Eye Institute, University of Miami.

Previous Lecturers

  • Oliver Findl, MD, MBA FEBO, 2018
  • Boris E. Malyugin, MD, PhD, 2017
  • R. Doyle Stulting, MD, PhD, 2016
  • Donald T.H. Tan, FRCS, 2015
  • Iqbal Ike K. Ahmed, MD, 2014
  • Nick Mamalis, MD, 2013
  • Randall J. Olson, MD, 2012
  • Abhay R. Vasavada, MS, FRCS, 2011
  • I. Howard Fine, MD, 2010
  • David F. Chang, MD, 2009
  • Edward J. Holland, MD, 2008
  • Steve C. Schallhorn, MD, 2007
  • Stephen S. Lane, MD, 2006
  • Graham D. Barrett, FRACO, 2005