Error message

  • Notice: Undefined variable: variables in riley_preprocess_page() (line 85 of /var/www/
  • Notice: Trying to get property of non-object in riley_preprocess_page() (line 85 of /var/www/

34th ASCRS Film Festival Awards
Monday, May 9

Reception 4:45 – 5:15 p.m. | Ceremony 5:15 – 6:45 p.m.

ASCRS Film Festival Theater: Final Screening
Tuesday, May 10

8 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.

About the Film Festival Awards

ASCRS established the Film Festival awards in 1982 to honor the best filmmakers in ophthalmology. All MDs, including residents and fellows, were invited to submit film entries.

The festival has 10 categories and for each, a winner and runner-up will be chosen. Among them, two will be recognized as Best of the Best; and one Grand Prize winner will be selected.

A team of nine panelists will judge the submitted films based on applicability/education value, originality, scientific content/validity, clarity, cinematic quality and artistic effects. The winning producers will be announced at a ceremony on Monday, May 9.

2015 Grand Prize Winner

The grand prize winner of the past year’s film festival was Samaresh Srivastava, DNB, from Ahmedabad, India for his film, Strange Stories, Amazing Facts: The Wavefront Omnibus.

33rd Film Festival Award Winners, April 2015, San Diego

Cataract Complications
Femtophaco Follies
Ronald Yeoh MD
Singapore, Singapore

Cataract/Implant Surgery
Fun with Femtosecond Lasers
Nick Mamalis, MD
Salt Lake City, Utah

Supra-Tenon Capsule Placement of a Glaucoma Drainage Device
Derek Huang, MD
San Francisco, California

In-House Production
Exploring the Limits of Femtosecond Laser– Assisted Cataract Surgery
Dilraj S. Grewal, MD
Durham, North Carolina

New Producer/Young Physician
Combined Femtosecond Intrastromal Lenticule Implantation With Accelerated Cross Linking: New Treatment Modality for Mild to Moderate Keratoconus
Sheetal Brar, MD
Bangalore, India

New Techniques
Double-Needle Iris–IOL Fixation
John C. Hart Jr., MD
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan

Quality Teaching
Enhanced Screening for Ectasia Susceptibility
Isaac C. Ramos, MD
Maceió, Brazil

Instruments & Devices/IOLs Best of the Best Winner
North-South-East-West: Improving Toric IOL Axis Alignment
Graham D. Barrett, FRANZCO
Nedlands, Australia

Refractive/Cornea Surgery Best of the Best Winner
Descemetorhexis Without Transplantation for Guttata Predominant Fuchs Dystrophy
Gregory Moloney MBBS, FRANZCO
Sydney, Australia

People's Choice
Improving Refractive Outcomes: Treating Inside the Capsule with Trypan Blue
Ahad Mahootchi, MD
Zephyrhills, Florida

Discover Los Angeles

Los Angeles, CA will host the 2017 ASCRS•ASOA Symposium & Congress—the the most dynamic cataract and refractive event of the year!